Paradise Sports of Trinidad

Date Published: 






The GFSCA will host the visiting Paradise Sports and Cultural Organisation from Chaguanas, Trinidad to a feature 20/20 cricket match on Friday August 07, 2015 at the Demerara Cricket Club ground, starting 6:30 p.m., under lights. The versatile men from "Floodlights", Guyana Softball Cup 4 and 2015 New York Independence Cup champions, will put on pads, batting gloves, helmets as they switch to Hardball.

Paradise Sports was first hosted in 1972 by the then famous Ogle Cricket Club and followed up this inaugural tour with several others up to the mid-eighties where they played various clubs on the East Coast. Some members from that 1972 trip will be in attendance at DCC on Friday.

Meanwhile Floodlights have announced their squad to take on the Trinis. The team reads: Ricky Deonarain (captain), Reyaz Hussein, Wayne Jones, Uniss Yusuf, Khalid Baksh, Richard Persaud, Dharam Persaud, Aravinda Gainda, Romeo Deonarain, Steve Narine, Rahaman Khan, Surendra Nauth, Rakesh Goverdhan, Rohan Boj-Raj -Manager.

Admission is free, with lots to on sale to eat and drink, and live entertainment.